Lighting metal

Pinterest, Stumbleupon, a myriad blogs… a new culture has arisen in America. The rise of the DIY: the do-it-yourselfer. People are turning to these ideas to make gifts for friends for a personal touch, instead of buying presents.

The hardest part of the Glass/Metal assignment was coming up with a concept. The first time I met with my group, I really didn’t have a good idea. My first idea involved the same scissors, a flag and a string. My idea was a reference to the Three Fates of Greek mythology make the decision of a person’s life; and the American people make the decision about the future of the American presidency.  I wanted to stay with the idea, but did not have time to put more effort into it. And, it just felt so abstract. I didn’t think I would even come close to making an audience “get” the concept.

Then I came up with the Do It Yourself culture idea. I felt like it was a concept that could be much easier to convey and was a lot more fun, especially as a DIY follower myself.

I’m not sure how my lighting of the scissors came out. Since it wasn’t super reflective metal, I wasn’t sure exactly how the lighting was supposed to look. I only used one strobe with a barn door that shot through a sheet, a reflector and a black card. So, I’m hoping I did alright!

Leave a Reply

