An inspiration

This week we’re beginning to learn more and more about studio lighting and the effects angles can have on a subject.

I am really excited to learn more on this topic. Although I take lots of portraits at work, they’re the yearbook-style photo: make sure the light is balanced and the person looks good. There’s no posing, no playing and no fun!

We were each asked to find a portrait we found inspiring. Here’s the one I chose:

*Image copyright of Paul Quiambao*

 

I find pictures of old people to be the most compelling. It has something to do with their wrinkles, I think. Watching the way the light spills onto this person’s face and how the light weaves into and out of wrinkles is inspiring to look at.

I believe that the photographer used only one light here, to the side that the person is facing. Then he took the photo from a different angle. The way the one light highlights the subject’s profile, but giving it just enough more detail to keep it from being a silhouette is beautiful and stunning. I hope I know how to do this someday!

 

Leave a Reply

