Two months later…

Wow! It doesn’t feel like school has already been out for two months. Maybe it’s because I’ve been so busy since then!

Only a short while after classes ended, I started up the infamous “Missourian” course.

(For those of you unfamiliar with the J School and the “Missouri Method,” the Journalism 4450 aka the Missourian course is a class, but more like an unpaid internship. In this class, you are a professional reporter for the Columbia Missourian. You are expected to pick up stories as well as pitch your own. For summer session, students are expected to average around 4 stories a week for the 6 week course.)

Well, I thought that my one true love in journalism was telling a story with pictures. But after the reporting class, my life may be changed.

I wrote a total of 31 stories and completed one multimedia project (that one with the help of  a fellow reporter). I loved the whole process- from gathering sources to interviewing to writing it all down. I also loved my editors and other newsroom staff. I made some wonderful friends and colleagues.

Yep, that’s me with a cute baby Clydesdale. To read the full story, visit my profile at the Missourian! (Photo credit: Carrie Durkee)

It was a truly amazing experience. I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I was able to work on a lot of really fun, bizarre and interesting stories- from the Anheuser Busch Clydesdale Farm near Boonville, to the Amish community near Clark and the bat colony of Devil’s Ice Box in Columbia. If you want to browse through my clips, you can look through my profile here.

I can honestly say that I will miss the newsroom and everyone in it. And after the experience I’ve gained, I feel better prepared and more confident to begin applying for internships for next summer.

I’m also beginning to wonder if my true calling is photography or reporting.

Leave a Reply

