Getting famous?

Curious why I was in the middle of a corn field? Keep reading!

Here is some blatant evidence of a drought, even if you’ve never seen a field: deep cracks in the earth.

Even though I grew accustomed to seeing my name online or in the paper at the Missourian, the feeling never wears off.

I’m not trying to sound full of myself– but whenever I see my own work actually published it gets me all excited.

The first mention I received was from the story I published about the Amish community nearby.

This story, in the entire process, took almost two weeks to finally get published. It was also bittersweet, as it was the last story I published for the Missourian.

By some stroke of lunch, my story was found by a blogger from Ohio who specializes in Amish cooking! Oxymoron, I understand, but you can read his “about” page to figure it out. Not only did he tweet about my story, but he also featured it on his blog! You can read his humbling remarks about my story here.

Now that the Missourian class is over, I’m back to work at Cooperative Media, full-time until school starts up again.

On Monday we got a random call from Rob Wile, a writer for the Business Insider, a community-styled website.

He was doing a short story about the terrible drought in the Midwest and asked if we had any photos of dried up corn fields, etc. We didn’t, but I drove over to Bradford Research Center and Tim Reinbott, the superintendent there, helped me find what I needed.

I shipped over around 30 photos to Rob, and here’s how it turned out! It was thrilling to see my name on a decently trafficked website!

(It also gave me a very good reason to get back in the habit of updating my blog!)

2 thoughts on “Getting famous?

  1. I write for the opinion section of UC Berkeley’s newspaper, The Daily Californian, and I have to agree – it just absolutely the most exciting feeling in the world to see one’s name in a newspaper. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

